The End…From The Beginning? How God speaks and how I follow Him.

As I walked up to this colossal waterfall I saw ropes hanging in a line in front of it, somehow attached above and in front of the falls. Each rope was perfectly spaced within swinging distance of the one after it and hanging straight down.  It seemed odd that they were actually old fashioned hemp ropes and not vines but it didn’t really bother me. Nevertheless, I knew that I needed to use them to cross in front of this waterfall. So I climbed up the first one and began swinging my weight back and forth, back and forth, back and forth, until I could reach out and grab the next rope. I then repeated the process one after another until I reached the other side of this enormous waterfall. Somewhere about halfway across, I looked upward at the ropes I was swinging on and could see that they were not attached to anything, they simply extended into the blue sky. About that time I knew that this waterfall was Victoria Falls.

As you have probably guessed by now, this was all a dream. I was still in Colorado, at home, in bed. It was the third week in November 2015. For the previous 3 years God had been increasingly using dreams and visions to direct my life. As I was faithful to believe them and move towards them (in whatever way I was able) He would bring them to pass. Sometimes they were simple, He would show me who I would be interacting with, and a few days or weeks later, I would come across that person. However, they were also growing in length and detail, having colors and even smells. He had been teaching me for several years to “consider carefully how I listen,” by putting it in my heart to write down or record my dreams and visions. I was doing that and almost immediately I began receiving more.

I was really beginning to see a whole new reality of what Jesus meant when He was explaining about the Kingdom of Heaven (spiritual realm of God) when He said, “Therefore consider carefully how you listen. Whoever has will be given more; whoever does not have, even what they think they have will be taken from them.” (Luke 8:18 NIV; A LOT more on this in future posts)

Ok, back to November 2015. Less than a week after I had the dream about Victoria Falls, a couple that I know wrote me a letter, it was lengthy and talked about other subjects more personal in nature but at one point in the letter they said that they felt led to offer to buy me a ticket anywhere in the world.

God was sending me to Victoria Falls.

But where is Victoria Falls? I mean, I knew that it was in Africa but where? I assumed that it would be by lake Victoria which lies in between Tanzania and Uganda. Which would make even more sense because I had an acquaintance that was already going to Tanzania at the end of November, I could tag along with them for part of the trip. That makes sense, right? I ran with that for several days and even tried to get in touch with my acquaintance. Later, a quick google search informed me that I was off by several countries, and a few thousand miles.

Victoria Falls actually lies on the Zambezi river, which forms the natural border between the beautiful countries of Zimbabwe and Zambia (among others) and has absolutely no connection to lake Victoria or Tanzania.

A quick check of some airline booking websites told me that I could fly into either Victoria Falls Zimbabwe or into Livingstone Zambia. However, in my dream the falls were oriented on my left as I swung across on the ropes. Which meant I needed to fly into Vic. Falls Zimbabwe and cross over into Zambia.

Yes, that really was my logic… Oh, I had questions as well. Small ones like, why not just fly into Livingston and only have to buy one visa instead of two? and why am I going to Africa in the first place?

I had no contacts, connections, and no money. Oh, I forgot that part. See, I had been attempting to live only by what God showed me in dreams and visions for several years. There were times He showed me helping out a neighbor or two and I would work for a couple of months driving semi-trucks and they would pay me, but money had been scarce and God often asked me to give away large parts of what I did have. So, at this point in time I had almost exactly three dollars. In quarters.

I did have a backpack that was small enough to take as a carry on and a sleeping bag that, with enough persuasion, fit inside. So I stuffed the sleeping bag inside, along with a few clothes, a flashlight, wads of toilet paper, a few toiletries, and the passport I had gotten 5 years prior.

About a week later, two days after Thanksgiving, on Nov 28, I bought a one way ticket to Victoria Falls Zimbabwe…for the next day.

On November 29th 2015, I had a relative drive me to the airport with my backpack, my passport, my three dollars in quarters, and a one way ticket.

Now let me pause here. I feel like I need to inform you that at this point in my journey, I knew all the negative consequences of what I was doing. I knew I didn’t have enough money to buy even a bottle of water at the airport.  I knew if I showed up in Zim (a third world nation with a collapsing economy and enormous corruption) with a one way ticket and not enough money for a visa that I would likely be sent to prison. I knew that I had no way to get home. I knew I had no tent or supplies for camping (not even a pocket knife because you can’t put them in a carry on). I knew I didn’t have malaria medication in a very high-risk area. I knew Zimbabwe has Lions, Elephants, and other deadly critters that roam around, even coming into the towns. I knew the danger…

BUT

I also knew that God had been preparing me for this. I knew God had given me a dream in which I made it from one side of the falls to the other. So, regardless of what happened in between, I knew I would make it into Zambia. I knew that I had other dreams of me doing ministry in the U.S. that hadn’t yet come to pass.

All I needed to do was leave everything I knew behind and just go.

The airport was busy and instead of parking and walking with me inside, my relative simply pulled up into the drop off lane and helped me get my backpack out of the back of their pickup truck. I said goodbye and started to turn to walk into the airport when they paused, pulled out their wallet, asked if I needed any money and handed me the $300 that was in it. We said goodbye again and they drove off as I walked into the airport.

I had asked no one for money, and I had told no one how much I had (or didn’t have). No one other than my immediate family and one cousin even knew I was leaving.

I flew out on Nov. 29th, I landed in Zim on December first and I crossed into Zambia on December second. I returned to the U.S.A. six months later after having been in four countries and having 3 more flights provided for me, all based on dreams and visions. (check out my post, Did God ask me to LIE? for one of those stories)

It would take two or three blogs just to tell you of the miracles that happened on the flight there and on the day going across the border, let alone the reason why God had me go through Zim when I could have easily bought a ticket to Zambia, but those are all for future posts.

Now, let me share a secret with you…

Tucked away in Isaiah 46:9-10 is an interesting truth about God. One that, once you know, you can take advantage of…. Ready?

“I am God, and there is no one like Me,

Declaring the end and the result from the beginning,
And from ancient times the things which have not [yet] been done,

Saying, ‘My purpose will be established,

And I will do all that pleases Me and fulfills My purpose,’” (AMP, emphasis mine)

In John 16:13 Jesus says something complimentary  “However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.” (NKJV, emphasis mine)

Couple these with Joel 2:28 and Acts 2:17 and you get a bigger picture:

“And it shall come to pass afterward

That I will pour out My Spirit on all flesh;

Your sons and your daughters shall prophesy,

Your old men shall dream dreams,
Your young men shall see visions.”

You see, I don’t have extraordinary faith or some special inside track to God (except that which is offered to everyone through faith in Jesus). I went with boldness because I KNEW that I had been shown the end from the beginning. 

That my friends it what it means when it says, “Now faith is the assurance (title deed, confirmation) of things hoped for (divinely guaranteed), and the evidence of things not seen [the conviction of their reality—faith comprehends as fact what cannot be experienced by the physical senses].” Heb. 11:1 (AMP)

Welcome to Kingdom Play. 🙂

Leave a Reply

